I wasn’t planning on doing this blog post but I had a spare Sunday last week with nothing planned and Mum asked me to bake a banana bread so I thought why not document my mess and share it on here.

For those of you who read my Veganuary blog posts you’ll know that I’ve been trying to make edits in my diet to try and make more vegan choices when it comes to food. Yes there have been the slip ups like when dominoes have a deal on or when its that time of the month and I really just want some actual chocolate. So I was actually excited when mum presented me with a vegan banana bread recipe. (here’s the link to the Veganuary blog post if you want to check it out: https://abislifeinwriting.home.blog/2019/01/23/veganary-%F0%9F%8C%B1/ )

I followed the recipe from the Bosh! recipe book which is all plant based recipes – I’m deffo going to have to steal some of these for when I go back to uni in September

I did edit the recipe a little like skipping out the nuts (none of us in my family are big fans and my boyfriend has a nut allergy so we tend to steer clear), I also switched Almond milk for Oat milk as I much prefer Oat milk and we already have that in the house. I think the only other thing we changed was the apple cider vinegar as we didn’t have any so we just used cider vinegar- It can’t make that much of a difference surely?

So the ingredients i used were:

  • 250g Plain Flour
  • 75g Light Brown Sugar
  • 75g White Sugar
  • 1 1/2 tbsp Coca powder
  • 1/2 tsp Bicarbonate of Soda
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Ground AllSpice
  • 110g dairy free butter (I use Pure)
  • 3 Ripe Bananas
  • 60 ml Oat Milk
  • 2 tbsp Maple Syrup
  • 1tsp Cider Vinegar
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 60g Dark Chocolate

The recipe also advises to use a food processor but sadly we don’t have one (as much as I wish I could be a lazy baker with a food processor- I just hope all the mixing is strengthening my arms for climbing!) So Instead I just put all of the butter and sugar in a bowl and mixed that. Then I added in the extra bits like the powder and syrups etc. Then I added the Flour

Next I had the joys of mushing the bananas – which I have to say felt really weird.

Then it was just mixing in the banana mush and the dark chocolate bits making a mixture which looks really … appetising

Then it went in the oven for an hour. And came out an hour later. (Side Note: While I waited I finished off episode 4 of Chernobyl – is anyone else watching? I’m obsessed with it! Let me know if you are too in the comments)

Myself, and my parents all think that it is good so would deffo bake again. Very yummy if I do say so myself. It is light and moist.

Nice and easy to bake. It takes an hour in the oven so it gives you enough time to clean up and go and do something else while it bakes – just make sure you don’t forget about it in there!

Let me know in the comments how you got on if you decide to give it go and if you could tell the difference between a non-vegan and vegan banana bread because I certainly can’t!

Thanks for reading x